friends = communtication = language

At times I just quietly move aside and feel agitated.

Simply because I don’t understand them.

Ever since Form One I sat and mixed with Chinese speaking people in class. Hanged out with them on weekends. In Form Four I had a different group of Chinese speaking friends ’cause I went to arts stream.

My Chinese has improved a lot. But I still lack a lot lot more. Hahha.

Each time they talk about stuff concerning school matters, problems, their feelings, I always need translation. That’s because they speak so fast (for me) and I end up not getting them.

And I can say that most of the time my friends are tried of translating for me… who wouldn’t be?!

I feel totally helpless when I can’t get to help them. When I can’t fight for justice. And all I do is see them hate the school more because of injustice done. All I do is just watch them being falsely accused and hear insulting insults which would effect anyone deeply.

Not to say that I put all the blame on myself. It is because I know I have the ability to speak out, ablity to enable the school to listen because I am a “smart” student in a “dumb” class.

Everyone listens to “smart” students nowadays. Everyone closes one eye when they see “smart” students. What do “smart” students know anyway? They are protected by “smart” teachers.

(I’m speaking in terms of how “dumb” students feel each time, which is every single time. How “dumb” students so hate “smart” students when it comes to displine.)

I doubt anyone reading this will ever understand how it sucks to be seeing “dumb” people suffer while “smart” ones get away. How teachers whole appearance and face gesture changes from meeting “smart” to “dumb” students; from angels to devils.

For now, only one teacher I know who fights for “dumb” students.

Thanks goodness for “Buffalo”!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joelosopher
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 13:58:42

    huh??

  2. zhihowe
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 17:34:15

    buffalo?i sure wanna noe who that is..

  3. aloysius
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 21:53:05

    hmmm…smart and dumb…hmm…interesting …hmmm.haha.=)

  4. enilit
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 19:05:57

    I’ve grown “dumber” over the last four yeas then. Grin.

    ‘Nyways. Methinks your mates will know you stood up for them and tried to right the wrong. Sometimes it’s not whether things happens, but the trying to make things happen.

  5. enilit
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 19:06:44

    …that matters.

  6. Jem
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 13:59:59

    i have the same problem with the translation too. My friends sometimes just don’t want to say anything cause it will be a WHOLE LOT of trouble for them. it’s a horrible feeling when you want to help so badly..but yet, you can’t.

  7. muffled
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 07:24:44

    Joel: Well, let’s just say that generally most teachers SIDE science stream students rather than art stream stuents, probably because most of them also think that science students have a better future. I’m just rembling about why the so-called “racism”. I think this only happens in my school?

    Zhi Howe: Haha. That’s for you to find out and for me to know. I need to “protect” that teacher, in case I’ll be the next one looking at PS2. Hahha.

Leave a Reply

