Preparing for Sabbath

I remember Yosh mentioning about preparing for Sabbath. That didn’t really make sense to me, but now it does.

Not only do we prepare our hearts meeting with God together with other believers and fellowshipping. But we also need to be responsible citizens of God’s Kingdom to prepare our physical state. For example, having sufficient sleep.

If I know that if I sleep at 2 am and wake up at 7.45 am for church, I would probably fall asleep during service. Imagine, falling asleep when the most High God wants to speak to you?

If I have an appointment with the Agung, I probably wouldn’t want myself to be seen falling asleep when he speaks. If he ever does see me falling asleep, he would be so frustrated and disappointed!

It’s the same with God, what more a God who reigns over all Agung, King of Kings! I’m sure He would feel sad when He sees us falling asleep.

Isn’t that a shame?

Not even being able to handle such a small thing like sleeping early?

And, during those olden days, everyone (including kids) wear formal clothes to church, put on their ‘Sunday best’. Or say, that is what I’ve read and seen… Hahha. But now, not everyone does that right?

Probably in year 2020, everyone would be wearing a singlet, shorts and Japanese slippers. Hah!

Anyway, Is there a need to put on our Sunday best? To enter His house with respect? After all, we’re worshiping God… But even if we wear our Sunday best, what matters most is our hearts. If that’s so, then nothing is wrong with my vision of year 2020?

Oh yah. Benefit of being a guy: They don’t usually get raped, at least, not frequent here in Malaysia.

Ish! Imagine a guy being raped. That’s so weird.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ry@n
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 22:14:42

    Great post Tien! Good reminder for us all.

    And yes, guys do get raped… by other guys.

  2. Maximus
    Dec 20, 2007 @ 21:48:25

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic

Leave a Reply

