F A M I L Y !

During the Raya break, my uncle, his kids and maid came down to Kluang to visit my granny (his wife – overseas). My uncle is my daddy’s little brother, in other words, my uncle is the youngest.

 

Yeah. So anyway, my cousins are so cute! Haha.

There’s Samuel, 11 years old,

Sarah, 9 years old,

and Shaun, 4 years old.

 

Shaun’s the cutest (of course) and also the most mischievous. Mainly because he’s a boy and he was brought up by his maid. The other two was brought up by their granny (mum’s side). I can say that Shaun is sorta spoiled and wild. Not good leh. Oh well.

Some shots of them!

 

Granny, Shaun (see that wide grin??), Sarah

 

 

Samuel, Sarah, Shaun

 

Shaun posting =P

 

Daddy trying to talk SOME SENSE to him,

but he just smiles without answering daddy and smiles at the camera…

 

Sarah and Shaun in bed

 

Heeee… that lil’ lion of Shaun’s

 

Evening time, just opposite granny’s house

 

Playing ball! Trying to get the ball…

 

Being amused and amazed =)

Cause he can’t dribble the ball yet.

 

Ah. Wonderful to have kids around right?

 

Yes, it is!

I use to not like the idea of having kids of my own, getting married… especially getting pregnant. Well, now I think different. And I thank God for that!

I’m beginning to see the wonderful gift God has given. The wonderful responsibility of being a parent, raising a family. Getting married.

Children

Imagine holding their small little hands, walking with them around the housing garden. Playing with them. Feeding them: “Ahhhh… open your mouth…” and praising them: “Good boy/girl!” and then looking at their broad smile on their face! Being proud of what they have acheived.

Or even, the thought of teaching them to grow up in the ways of the Lord, teaching then how to communicate, speak, walk…

As parents, it is so important, so essential to teach them manners!

Shaun isn’t used to saying ‘please’ or ‘thank you’. I knew that and each time he wanted to see his photo in the camera, I would ask him to say: “Please, can I see the photo?” I repeated those words slowly, two by two. And he followed in a soft, gentle voice. So cute!

Imagine doing that to your own child. Wow. It’s so ahhh! Nice! Teaching them to be someone good and well-mannered.

Somehow, everything I see in a kid brings me to a higher level of appreciating God’s creation. And how fortunate I am to be brought up by good and loving parents!

Family

During lunch with daddy that day, I just said that I would want to have three children, or four, depending on affordability (hahha). Two boys, one girl or two boys or two girls. More boys also can lah =P

And daddy replied, “Why do you think of such things? So far ahead..”

I laughed. Remembering that daddy is a typical guy.

I told him, “I realise that each time I tell this to a guy, they will not respond or they will be like ‘huh, whatever’. But when I tell this to a girl, they will join the conversation and tell me how many kids they want too… why ah?”

He laughed.

After 4 hours, daddy said that it’s because girls have a mother’s heart.

Acceptable?

YES!

Mummy told me that day, that it is good to keep my eyes open to observe the different ways children are brought up. Take the good points and remember them, correct the bad points. Then next time I would know how to bring up my children well. Good idea right?

Marriage

Hm. Mummy asked me to read this book ‘Letters To Karen’. Daddy gave it to her way back then. It’s about keeping love in marriage. The author, Charlie W. Shedd writes in form of letters to his daughther, Karen who just got married. A few weeks before she was married, she said to her daddy, “I’d like you to tell me how I can keep him loving me forever!” And this was one of the reasons why he wrote this book.

This book is lovely. Simple, short, sweet. It got me into a glimpse of how marriage is, how it should be. How both partners play an important role as a married couple.

I’ve always thought that living together after marriage is easy. It’s not that easy now! Imagine, all your habits, he’ll have to bear with, or even you’ve to be corrected. The way both sometimes does things differently.. simple things which wouldn’t be noted in courtship.

Haha. So to avoid yourself from being the irritating one, don’t start having weird habits! (That’s from me =P)

It also touches on sex, when and how to approach it… And of course, the right view of sex… like:

“Sex is a God-ordanied means of assuring your partner that he is the most important person in the world right here, right now.”

I bet everyone knows how a mother is and how a father is.. Mummy goes talking a lot.. hahha. The writter gave me insights of guys, MEN. And their pride… how we, women can bring them up to their best levels. How to control our mouth and be the best wife a husband could have. Not just in speech of course. But that is one of the most affecting thing that brings a husband down: their wives’ words.

Okay, enough of that! There’s just too much to tell. Reading it yourself would be better =P If interested, just nudge me =)

Marriage and living together may be hard, but it’s an interesting challenge! A challenge with someone you love!

 

Conclusion

If you keep going this day all the love your hearts can produce, then tomorow will keep giving you a larger and greater love. (Charlie W. Shedd)

Having these lovely thoughts on family also brings me to a deeper understanding of relationships, and of course my parent’s relationships. It makes me acknowledge my responsibility as a child… after all, I would want my child to be the best too (in obedience, honour, and acts).

Yes, I thank God for my daddy =)

At a lot of times I feel that he has a father’s heart. His love for children, his love and compassion for children who come from poor backgrounds, his care for his students, and his love for the Vietnamese – a people from a foreign land within our midst, their foreign land.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. koocheekoo
    Oct 18, 2007 @ 10:58:41

    I LOVE this post..

    *But it will still not make me change my perspective towards young boys. hehe =)

  2. aloy
    Oct 18, 2007 @ 13:43:22

    haha gid dun like children and u like a lot haha… funnie.. =X
    wahaha

  3. pris
    Oct 19, 2007 @ 10:59:04

    TIEN!! GREAT post.. But then, how are you supposed to get PREGANT?? hahaa…I thought ppl get PREGNANT..hHHAAhaha..ok.ok..

  4. muffled
    Oct 19, 2007 @ 14:37:47

    hahha.. those who commented, thanks for taking the time to read such a long post =P typo there.. thanks for telling haha.

    i won’t be marrying him, so nevermind la.. haha =P

  5. enilit
    Oct 19, 2007 @ 19:55:51

    LOL. You grow up ‘dy!

  6. enilit
    Nov 04, 2007 @ 23:10:04

    Eh. Sara doesn’t have a “h” in her name.🙂

  7. yenn-ish
    Dec 03, 2007 @ 19:51:44

    SIGH, respect you a lot, in that kinda sense… have always laH.
    i remember we talked about that number of kids thingy before, dont know if you remember though… which i think you dont. sheesh!

  8. guest
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 11:36:10

    you really think u can get married?.dream on.you sucks

  9. tienhui
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 12:48:50

    care to share your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

