Is it even an AGM?

“Kamu semua rumah ape?”
“Omega…”
“Skali lagiiii…”
“Omega!”
“Ape? Tak dengar lah… Rumah ape?”
”OMEGA!”
”Ah, barulah betol..”

Today we had our house AGM at 8 am. We walked down to the canteen, found a place to sit. Waited for the others to arrive. Few minutes later, a male teacher who was my former MUET teacher (who also, hasn’t returned last year’s MUET end year exam paper) greeted all of us, OMEGA-ians.

Then the head teacher of OMEGA said a few words. The most disturbing thing was happening at the same time. Two Form 6 Malay girls were standing in front beside a lady teacher, one of them holding a pen and a paper, pointing towards other students and then writing on the paper.

“Don’t tell me those two in front are going to be the house captain..”
“Huh? Teacher straight away choose?”
“No lah, I don’t think so.”
“Maybe they are suggested candidates and we can add on.”

Not having an inkling of what they were exactly doing, my group of friends and I feared the worst and hoped the most. After much talk, my former MUET teacher suddenly pointed towards me. He asked me to come to the front. I did and wrote my name on the paper, beside this: AJK Tingkatan 6.

While writing my name, I took a glimpse of what was already written on it. Above were the list of the other committee members, starting from the house captain.

As soon as I got back to my place, I told them the news. We were all shocked. Yes, our greatest fear became our nightmare. The two girls standing in front are the house captain and assistant. And the rest of the committee were Malays. I was the only Chinese. Or let’s say, non-Muslim.

Back in class, I asked other mates how their house AGM was conducted. It was almost the same.

It disturbs me. It did disturb me the rest of the day in school.

Why can’t we choose our own candidates and vote? How can the teacher select the head? And allow the head to choose her own committee? If not for my formal MUET teacher, would it be reined with Malays? Why can’t they let athletes lead the house? Even if they want to select their own, why can’t they at least check out past records of the Form 6 students, see if they are athletes? Still, where is the liberty of voting? Why must they be control freaks?

What is wrong with this school?

Oh yes. I remember the principal telling us during assembly on Monday, that as a student of SMK TUN HUSSEIN ONN, we MUST be proud and glad and joyful and thankful that we are offered to study in this school called SEKOLAH SUKAN. Oh, wonderful I tell you! Amazing! I’m overjoyed!

By the way, it’s not that I am a racist. I’m just overly discouraged to see how the school teachers get things done. And if ever the issue of racial harmony is brought up during assembly, all that is said is redundant and they do not have the slightest idea of what they are doing.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rui Shuang
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 20:43:26

    SABAR!
    Presenting one 5 letter word for you.
    Haha. You’re in OMEGA? Or ALL OF YOU are in Omega?
    I was from Sigma and you know what, our teachers dont do what your teachers did for our agm last time. You should sneak into Sigma ma..what la you.. =P (btw, our captain was a chinese!)
    anyways, another 5 letter word for you.
    ” TAHAN ”
    Haha!

  2. Xueqi
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 23:04:04

    HAHA!!
    I guess with Rui Shuang yeh.
    T-A-H-A-N!!

    JIA YOU!!
    Kesian lah.
    Anyway, OMEGA sounds weird ..HAHA!!
    TAKE CARE!!!

  3. zhihowe
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 03:07:01

    welcome to the world,tien.haha.even if they allowed an election,unless ur gang is more than them,it will be conquered by malays too.i was the only non-muslim representative for my house last year also.so TERIMA SAHAJALAH.lrs,sigma lost because of u,rite?:P

  4. catzmeow
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 22:09:53

    wow sigma!! the champ last year!!! hahaha haiz tien redha je?? stress begini buat apa …..ingat style di sekolah ini!! nak dapatkan jawatan tak payah berkaliber dalam sesuatu bidang …tetapi hendaklah disayangi oleh guru tersebut hahha too bad la A….n not ur godfather:P ooops hahahha

  5. christina_san
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 15:03:12

    I rumah papan one leh.. LOL..!!😄 Haiyo.. My school’s rumah so called “election” worst.. Non of the non muslim are in it.. Atleast there’s one in yours.. lolz =S

  6. muffled
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 03:07:59

    RS: Yeah, all of us are in Omega. Haha. Bao Ching and I were actually in Alpha.

    XQ: Does Xue Qi sound weird? HAHA!😛

    ZH: Haha. More of: Welcome to schools you all survive in.

    CTSL: Good thing your name is Shar Ling behind, not Run Ling or anything that starts with a ‘R’.. Cos if it’s a ‘R’, then your name would be on the keyboard.. CTRL. HAHA.

    Christina: Hahh.. don’t know your full name😛 No wonder you’re so kayu lah… from rumah papan.. HAHA.

    Yes, I know it’s a late reply to your comments ;P

  7. Xueqi
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 19:14:29

    HAHA!!

Leave a Reply

