Jaybee

Four bus loads of SMKTHO students headed to Plaza Angsana, Johor Bahru, for “Karnival Pengajian Tinggi Negara: Jom Masuk U” organised by the Ministry of Higher Education.

There was more than one booth. Less than a hundred booths.

Booths were set up by people. Malaysians, I should think.

Well, I earnestly wanted to find out about the communication/media/graphic communication courses public universities offer. Sad to say, it was to total letdown. Worth a century of sighs.

Firstly, the booths had only such limited space. Thus, unable to set up an atmosphere where a Q&A session could go on between university representatives and students.

Secondly, representatives were not prepared to answer any questions asked. For the first few booths, feeling excited and spirited, I posted a few questions to them. The first two university representatives were well prepared. Replies were pretty satisfying. After the third and fourth booth, I gave up.

Thirdly, Malaysians mentality of “BARANG PERCUMA!!! MESTI AMBIK!!”. Since I gave up asking questions, and being a Malaysian myself, I joined my fellow Malaysians in Kempen Collect-Them-All. Not bad, I can say. Two hours of walking = two notepads + five ball pens + a file + a small paper bag + a plastic bag + brochures.

On hindsight, I spent half my afternoon with Jonathan Si. Met up with him at around half past twelve, went to Bandaraya Segi Empat/City Square.

Got tickets for Yasmin Ahmad’s TALENTIME! And as usual, the counter girl had to ask TWICE, if we wanted to watch a MALAY movie. And as usual, I corrected her: MALAYSIAN movie.

Alright, although they have every right to ask twice or trice, since it’s categorised as a Malay movie, but that look on their faces… Makes me perceive as if I don’t own the right to watch MALAY movies?

Anyways. Had lunch and off to the long awaited movie! Woohoo!😀 Two hours and four minutes later, we rushed off the Larkin. Phew. Reached there like six and a half minutes before bus departured? Hahha.

Well well.

Jaybee.

What shall I say?

It’s unlike Kluang.

In some ways.

Which is good.

Hahha…

Here are some of my favourite scenes:

Melur on the bike with Mahesh just after she learn that he was partially deaf - she had such satisfaction by just being in his presence despite his shortcomings.

Melur on the bike with Mahesh just after she learn that he was partially deaf - she had such satisfaction by just being in his presence despite his shortcomings.

Melur and her second sister arguing - really reflects middle child syndrome! Although I'm the last child. Hahha.

Melur and her second sister arguing - really reflects middle child syndrome! Although I'm the last child. Hahha.

Hafiz's mother sharing her joy of bringing him into the world - tears were rolling down my cheeks man!

Hafiz's mother sharing her joy of bringing him into the world - tears were rolling down my cheeks man!

And, the last scene, the Talentime event - reflects on the process of getting to that day of event, not merely the award/who won and lost.

And, the last scene, the Talentime event - reflects on the process of getting to that day of event, not merely the award/who won and lost.

Also, some songs used during the show:

I Go
So long, fare thee well
The dancer and the dancing days have taken leave and fell
So turn down this bed of stone
Quench me with the deadly nightshade from the rose that you belong

The long December rain is falling now
Running down on streets to nowhere
Music is my life – you’re my sweetest nightingale
But I can’t hear it here no more
And I go
I go

Hush now, don’t shake or break
Words have fallen silent like soldiers to the grave
No matter what they do or say
Lay me on the sleepy meadow by the tracks upon your face

– Words & Music By Pete Teo. All rights reserved 2008

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hiang
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 15:56:20

    well…
    what is this movie’s name??
    haha…
    u got wrote in your blog??
    haha…
    seems not bad wo…
    okok…
    take care^^

  2. enilit
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 23:01:03

    You watched Talentime! >.< Grrrrrrr …

  3. muffled
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 02:01:12

    hiang hiang! hehe. the movie is called Talentime. quick quick, go watch. haha. btw, haven’t seen you for some time now. hope to catch up with you during your next break kay?🙂

    yeap yeap. i did watch it! we’re even out, you watched Muallaf, didn’t you?😛

  4. Michelle
    Apr 10, 2009 @ 11:11:48

    How come u got the time to watch movie?! You skip the Carnival?! Hehe^^

  5. muffled
    Apr 10, 2009 @ 17:54:17

    hahaha.. no lah, i went there from 10 to 12. movie after that🙂

  6. Michelle
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 00:12:39

    Erm…not really want to be a teacher, but lecturer loh. If can get JPA, I’ll go for it definitely. Just in case i don’t get it mar.

Leave a Reply

